Hello family and friends!

28 11 2009

Hello from…Florida!

I’m still in the States, but am preparing for my upcoming trip set for January 10th.  I will be spending a week in training at the Engineering Ministries International headquarters in Colorado Springs, then I will continue onto Kampala, Uganda with 4 other volunteers.  I will be staying in Kampala for about 6 months and I’ll be Skype-ing while I’m there, so please stay in touch either by phone or by checking the blog.

Honestly, I don’t know how good this blog will be.  I can compose concise (and witty) Facebook posts, but the blogging will be a work-in-progress.  But as my friends in architecture know, I can’t work any other way.  I apologize in advance for my writing – I write as if I am speaking and my English major friends will have to forgive me.  I might use too many, commas.  But hopefully in my colloquialisms you’ll hear my voice as much as you’ll see my grammatical ineptitude.

As for the trip itself, I believe I am as equally excited as I am anxious.  I only know that I don’t know what to expect, but that certain things will come into place once my feet are on the ground.  Until then I’ll be celebrating the holidays with Mom and Dad; applying to graduate school for next Fall; taking every precaution necessary for the trip (Monday: immunizations, Tuesday: organize garage sale, Wednesday: get enough peanut butter for 6 months); and praying praying praying.  Please keep us all in your prayers, especially the people we hope to serve in East Africa.  I can’t wait to use what I’ve learned in school in a professional and spiritual setting.  I’m so thankful for the people I will be working with and working for – that God has blessed them with the gifts to do His good work.

So thanks for reading my first blog.  This is what Facebook must feel like for my Dad.  I can’t wait until I have some pictures and stories to share with you, so please be on the lookout come January!  God bless you all and I hope you had a Happy Thanksgiving!

Pax and Agape

P.S. Check out the eMI website for more information: http://www.emiworld.org

P.P.S.  I just realized I used semicolons.  I think Kurt Vonnegut said that semicolons were pointless.  Please add semicolons to my list of future mistakes.

Actions

Information

3 responses

30 11 2009
Sapple

Love you, Meg! I can’t wait to adventure vicariously through you!

14 12 2009
Sue Thompson

Megan:
Looking forward to the start of your journey and all you will share…

16 01 2010
IIa Preti

Don’t worry about writing style; what you have to say is all that’s important!
I disagree with Kurt V; semi-colons do serve a purpose.
‘Ditto’ Sapple’s remark!

Leave a Reply

