Retrospect #1: Update

8 05 2010

Religion that is pure and undefiled before God, the Father, is this: to visit orphans and widows in their affliction, and to keep oneself unstained from the world. (James 1:27)

It has literally been months since my last post and I sincerely apologize to all friends and family who have periodically checked this site in anticipation of something new. This week there is much transition in the office and I finally have some time to catch up on my posts in a series covering the highs and lows of the last three months. I’ll hopefully have one post every day, as long as the Internet connection doesn’t fail me.

There is much to say about my time thus far, and all that I have seen and witnessed has prompted me to extend my internship in Uganda until December 2010. I have been continually overwhelmed by the Ugandan people and their culture as well as the caliber of people who flow into and out of the EMI office, and I feel compelled to stay with them a while longer to continue this good work. I will be heading out to Jinja (80 km east of Kampala) in August to work and live with an EMI family doing construction management. There is a great need for construction managers in East Africa as building techniques do not usually meet minimum safety requirements. The internship will allow me to work on-site, face-to-face with local builders and craftsmen, dealing with the daily anxieties and frustrations of the construction process. Yet I am at a serious loss for words in describing how excited I am to see a design move from concept to reality.

I will be working with an orphange called Good Shepherd’s Fold which houses and educates abandoned children ages 3-17. They demonstrate the love of Christ by giving these children a home, a family, and a chance for a wonderful inheritance in this world and the next. We will be designing a clinic which will serve both the orphanage and the surrounding village, as well as housing for both orphans and missionary volunteers. Please please pray for the orphans – that they can tangibly feel the love of God the Father in their fatherless lives – and for the ministry as they expand to serve more children.

As for me, I’ll be in need of your prayers and support throughout the end of the year as well. And thank you for your prayers thus far – there is no other way for me to describe this experience and the time I will spend in Jinja as a true answer to prayer, so thank you.

Tune in tomorrow for Retrospect #2: Sudan.

(P.S. The picture is at Sipi Falls – more to come later…)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

