Father’s Day

21 06 2010

So I was originally going to send this as an email, but I think everyone should know how amazing you are:

Daddy –

So while we were talking yesterday I completely forgot it was Father’s Day, and then I had to go and shut off without saying goodbye.

I was reading this book called Searching for God Knows What about the problems with formulaic religion and morality in the US, and the author was talking about how having a relationship with God is the most important thing, and that God himself is very relational. To illustrate his point, he used an example of an interview that someone had with the writer Toni Morrison. They asked her what the secret to her success was, why she was so good at what she did – was it college? was it natural talent? was it her experiences? She answered that the reason why she was good at what she did was that, when she was a little girl, her daddy would smile when she walked into a room and she knew she was loved.

I am now living in a country where there are many, many children who do not have fathers. Some argue that it is a root cause of the political and social instability in Uganda. All I know is that any encounter with a child who has been cut loose, who is unwanted, and who will never hear the words “I love you” from a parent is heartbreaking to the point where I can hardly process a day in their life. I am here today because when I was growing up I had a dad who loved me, who’s eyes lit up when I entered a room, and they still do.

I miss you this Father’s Day and wish I could have spent it with you at Steak’n’Shake, but I’m here in large part because of you. Last week I helped design a university landscape and drainage masterplan for the future leaders of Uganda, and I know I’m making you proud.

Love you more,

Meggie

Actions

Information

2 responses

21 06 2010
Papa Elio

Megan.. You are sooooo right,I got the same feeling from my mother,
I knew that I always had her love.
We are all very proud of you and what you are doing.
love … Papa Elio

22 06 2010
Steve Suau

Meggie – I love your blogs, but this one is my favorite.

Love you the most,
Dad

Leave a Reply

